Big Story: Why did NRM MPs defect to Bobi Wine’s new NUP party

Big Story: Why did NRM MPs defect to Bobi Wine’s new NUP party. Whisper Eye Reports

Opposition National Unity Platform (NUP) party has officially received three National Resistance Movement (NRM) MPs as we draw close to 2021.

Outspoken Manjiya County in Bududa MP hon John Baptist Nambeshe, Kasanda North MP Patrick Nsamba Oshabe who are on NRM party ticket and Busujju County MP David Lukyamuzi Kalwanga who run as an Independent candidate but subscribe to the ruling NRM have crossed to Kyadondo East MP Kyagulanyi Robert Ssentamu’s new party.

According to sources close to NRM party secretariat, reveals how NRM top officials had planned to rig them out.

MP David Kalwanga in primaries after opposing the Amendment of Article 102(b) in the famous ‘Togikwatako’ saga in 2017.

NRM is backing faded former state minister for gender and also a popular NRM support who was representing Busujju County before losing the seat to MP Kalwanga.

Last week former MP Nyanzi had a meeting at Pope Paul VI Memorial Hotel in Ndeeba immediately after picking Expression of Interest (EOI) forms NRM Secretariat at Kyadondo, he met NRM leaders on the strategies of defeating MP Kalwanga if he participates in the party primaries.

President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni promised to finance Nyanzi’s campaign who was royal to the NRM party.

Hon Nsamba Oshabe is also facing the similar challenge and NRM had planned to block his way through the party primaries.

Mityana municipality MP Zaake has mobilised greater Mubenda area thus giving NUP popularity and youths are ready to vote leaders on NUP party flag.

Three legislators David Kalwanga, Patrick Nsamba Oshabe and Zaake have made an alliance to support each other in the forthcoming general elections.

In Manjiya county, MP Nambeshe was on the front line during the Gen Elly Tumwine saga.

He collected MP signatures to censure Gen Elly Tumwine. Hon Nambeshe was joined by Theodore Ssekikubo (Lwemiyaga), Barnabas Tinkasiimire (Buyaga) Allan Ssewanyana (Makindye West) and Moses Kasibante (Rubaga North.

From a reliable source intimate to NRM Secretariat at Kyadondo, Hon Nambeshe was defiantly to lose the party primaries.

MP Nambeshe also rejected money from president Museveni last month and vowed to support Bobi Wine for president on 2021.

People close to Hon Nambeshe say that he is a man of his word.

The three NRM MPs joined MP Zaake, Kawempe North MP Haji Latif Ssebaggala Ssengendo together with Kyadondo East MP also the president of NUP to make six legislators in total who are on NUP.