Road to 2021: Uganda presidency race attracts 50 against Y K Museveni

Road to 2021 : Uganda presidency race attracts 50 against Y K Museveni. Whisper Eye Reports

Uganda presidential race 2021 has taken a new twist as presidential aspirants number hit half-a decade amidst rooming scientific polls.

About 50 Ugandans have shown interest to Challenge president Yoweri Kaguta Museveni in the forthcoming general elections.

On top of the list are;

Rtd Col Dr Kiiza Besigye Kifeefe, who has been the runners up in the presidential polls since 2001.

He is a former bush war fighter, and also a former president of the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) party.

In 2016 Col Besigye declared him self a winner and formed the People’s government declaring him self president.

MP Kyagulanyi Robert Ssentamu: Kyadondo East legislator apop music star turned in politician popularly also known by his stage name Bobi Wine among the list.

Mr Wine was cleared by the Electoral Commission (EC) to make consultative although the police banned them before the country was put under lock down due to Covid-19 pandemic by president Museveni.

He is the supreme leader of the People Power, Our Power Movement with headquarters at Kamwokya, Kampala.

Dr Aggrey Kiyingi: Australia based Cardiologist revealed his fresh presidential bid on radio Munansi, a couple of weeks ago.

While addressing the Nation on radio Munansi ( Dr Kiyingi publicly stated his interest to challenge Mr Museveni.

He is the chairman of the Uganda Federal Democratic Organisation (UFDO).

In 2016, the government of Uganda denied Dr Kiyingi nomination documents, and his return.

Dr Kiyingi has called upon Ugandans to oppose the so called ‘Scientific elections’ on arguments that incumbent presented is planning to rig these elections.

Norbert Mao: Democratic Party (DP) president has declared already to challenge Mr Museveni in 2021.

Gulu Kingpin has also launched the writing of his 2021 campaign manifesto.

He represented Gulu municipality for two five-year terms, and five years as the Gulu district Chairman.

Gen Gregory Mugisha Muntu: Alliance for National Transformation (ANT) president is also interested and planning to challenge president Museveni through a ballot.

Last week ANT party released its 2020/21 road map and declared all interested people to pick forms for all posts.

Gen Muntu has created structures across the country.

Rtd Lt. Gen Henry Tumukunde: Former Museveni security minister was so cleared by the EC to hold consultative meetings before the Covid-19 pandemic.

Charles Mutaasa Kafeero: is a political activist, recently he jumped from the public gallery in the Parliament to the plenary and arrested, and remanded to Luzira maximum prision.

Mr Kafeero said that he was taking a document to the speaker which was fighting corruption in Uganda.

Other presidential aspirants include;
Ms. Nancy Kalembe, Francis Elton Nyero Lakalle, former presidential candidate Elton Joseph Mabirizi, Dr Moses Khalim Amin, Environment activist Timothy Mugerwa, Apostle Ben Israel Sseninde, Bob Paul Akileng, Bob Isaac Sendagire Salongo, Mathias Semusu, Joseph Mwambazi, Stephen Kaweesa, Christopher Rubaga, Ambrose Kyomukama, Dr Joel Senkimpi.

The long list also has Yosam Makooma Tunawooza, Fred Mwesigye,
John Herbert Nkangabwa, Moses Byamugisha, Fred Chemuko Wakuri, Maguru Ruhinda, Edward Nyonzima, Grace Kabarungi Muluya, Darlen Kamusiime, Pastor Godwin Sempebwa, Dan Matsiko, Dr. Amir Kabunga, Joseph Kabuleta, former ISO chief Charles Rwomushana among others.

President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni has ruled Uganda since 1986, after the success of Luwero bush war.

In 1995, the constitution of the Republic of Uganda gave two terms to the president, in 2003 the constitution was amendment and President Museveni was given a chance to contest in 2006.

The constitution also had Article 102 (b) the Age limit, this was amended in 2017, giving president Museveni green lights to rule Uganda for life.