Supreme Court stays expulsion of six MPs from Uganda Parliament

The Supreme Court has today stayed the execution of the Constitutional Court ruling that called for expulsion of six Members of parliament from representing newly created municipalities in different parts of the country . Whisper Eye Reports.

Seven Supreme Court justices on Thursday afternoon directed that the six MPs should stay in parliament as they await the outcome of the main suit in which they are challenging the lower court’s judgement.

The supreme justices included Esther Kisaakye, Stella Arach Amoko, Opio Aweri, Lillian Tibatemwa, Richard Buteera, Mike Chibita and Paul Mugamba .

The highest court in the land ruled that the applicants have demonstrated seriousness to pursue the appeal and the application was lodged without undue delay.,”

The justices argued that if the affected MPs are thrown out of parliament before their appeal is disposed of, the outcome of the main case may be rendered useles .the court stated

The affected MPs include , Asuman Basalirwa for Bugiri Municipality ,Patrick Ocan(Apac Municipality), Tarsis Rwaburindore Bishanga(Ibanda Municipality MP), Abrahams Lokii(Kotido Municipality) , Hashim Sulaiman(Nebbi Municipality), and Dr Elioda Tumwesigye(Sheema Municipality),

The MPs appealed against the Constitutional Court judgement throwing them out of parliament in a petition filed by former Bufumbira East MP Eddie Kwizera in the Constitution Court against the six legislators