LC5 Polls: Lango region votes all incumbent chairpersons out

Incumbent LCV chairpersons in the nine districts of Lango sub-region all lost their seats in the just concluded Local Government Elections.

Election results released by Tom Otetei, the Kwania District Returning Officer on Thursday indicate that he Kwania district interim chairperson Basil Anthony Okello Onac polled, 9,446 votes and lost the seat to Geoffrey Alex Ogwal Adyebo, who had 27,788 votes.

In Otuke district, the incumbent chairperson Bosco Odongo Obote lost his seat to Francis Abala, while Denis Johnson Okello, the incumbent in Alebtong district lost the seat to DK Odongo, and Simon Peter Ongom Sedu, the Amolatar district incumbent chairperson lost to Geoffrey Ocen. Asante Odongo, the Apac District Vice Chairman won the Apac district chairperson’s seat.

The Lira District incumbent Chairman Alex Oremo Alot lost his seat to RCM Okello, Nelson Adea Akar lost the Oyam district seat to Benson Dila Oyuku and Kole District Chairperson Betty Akoli Nam lost to Andrew Moses Awany. Lira City Mayor Mike Ogwang Olwa Veve lost to Sam Atul and Fredrick Dickens Odongo alias Komfu Master, the Dokolo district chairperson lost to James Oto Abili.

According to the election results, Uganda People’s Congress-UPC party won five seats in the entire Lango sub-region. The ruling National Resistance Movement won three seats,  Forum for Democratic Change-FDC won one seat and only one Independent candidate sailed through the race successfully.

Fredrick Dickens Odongo, the Dokolo District Chairperson who lost the election blames his loss to failure by the Electoral Commission to conduct civic education, and as a result, he says, many voters never turned up to participate in the local council elections.

He, however, conceded defeat and urged the electorate to turn up in large numbers to participate in the lower local government elections scheduled for February 3 2021. 

Asante Odongo, the newly elected LCV Chairperson for Apac district said many incumbents lost the elective positions in Lango due to their poor track record and poor relationship with the communities they serve. Odongo attributed his win to his outstanding performance during his tenure as the Ibuje Sub County LCV councillor and

Voters who talked to Uganda Radio Network on Thursday said that they opted to vote out all incumbents in order to improve service delivery, which had stalled over the years.

Solomon Otim, Allan Odur and Victoria Akello all residents of Kwania district want the newly elected chairperson to closely monitor government programs, lobby development projects for them and fight corruption in the district.