Road to 2021; Luweero Woman MP NRM primaries a big hot spot to watch

Road to 2021; Luweero Woman MP NRM primaries a big hot spot to watch

National Resistance Movement (NRM) party is set to organise primaries across the country as we draw close to 2021 general elections.

Luweero district woman MP race is a hot spot as two district councillors Joy Namulindwa and Zena Nasur challenge political veteran form Luweero district woman MP hon Rebecca Nalwanga, incumbent MP Eng Liliian Ssegujja Nakate, Najjuka Prossy, and Education entrepreneur Cissy Mulondo.

The competition is too tough and now all the candidates are meeting NRM members secretly in Luweero, due to Covid-19 pandemic preventive measures.

A reliable source told Whisper Eye News that leaders are crossing from one camp to the other.

Accordingly Ms Cissy Mulondo’s camp, it has been boosted by endorsement of Luweero Town Council chairman Mr Mukungu Paul, and Woman councillor to the district Ms Rodah Mugabi.

Sources say that Ms Mulondo’s and Hon Nalwanga’s camps are gaining strength at the expense of the incumbent MP Nakate.

The two district councillors are still controlling the youth vote on the race.

NRM announced that the mode of voting for general parliamentary and local council primary elections shall be by lining up, and in accordance with the COVID19 Regulations issued under the Public Health Act.

Below is the new NRM road map in brief

  • Nomination for Members of Parliament and LC 5 Chairpersons will be carried out from 10th to 17th August in Kampala.
  • Nomination for Special Interest Groups (SIG) will take place from 20th to 22nd July and voting for the same will be on 25th July 2020.
  • Election for MPs will take place on 7th September 2020
  • Election will take place on same day throughout the Country.